## ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH LEGISLATURE

## FIRST SESSION

## **LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 248**

Introduced by Erdman, 47.

WHEREAS, Legislative District 47 consists of ten counties in Nebraska's Panhandle, including Arthur, Banner, Box Butte, Cheyenne, Deuel, Garden, Keith, Kimball, Morrill, and Sioux; and

WHEREAS, the Second Amendment to the Constitution of the United States provides for the right of the people to keep and to bear arms and that such right shall not be infringed; and

WHEREAS, the people of Legislative District 47 are strong supporters of our freedoms and understand that the right to keep and bear arms is a fundamental right of our republic guaranteed to the citizens by the Second Amendment; and

WHEREAS, all ten counties of Legislative District 47 have embraced this right of the people to keep and bear arms by passing resolutions and ordinances declaring these counties as Second Amendment sanctuary counties; and

WHEREAS, this right to keep and bear arms is reaffirmed in Article 1, section 1, of the Constitution of Nebraska.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, FIRST SESSION:

- 1. That the Legislature recognizes the people of Legislative District 47 as strong supporters of the Second Amendment of the Constitution of the United States.
- 2. That the Legislature recognizes the counties of Arthur, Banner, Box Butte, Cheyenne, Deuel, Garden, Keith, Kimball, Morrill, and Sioux as Second Amendment sanctuary counties, whereby the right to keep and bear arms shall be upheld and honored.
  - 3. That copies of this resolution be sent to the county boards of Arthur,

Banner, Box Butte, Cheyenne, Deuel, Garden, Keith, Kimball, Morrill, and Sioux counties.