ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SPECIAL SESSION - 2021 COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LB5

Hearing Date: Committee On: Introducer: One Liner:	Thursday September 16, 2021 Redistricting Redistricting Set boundaries of public service commissioner districts		
	inal Committee Action: o General File		
Vote Results:			
Aye:	9	Senators Blood, Brewer, Briese, Geist, Linehan, Lathrop, Lowe, Morfeld,	
Nay: Absent: Present No	ot Voting:	Wayne	
	Oral Test	imony:	
Proponents:		Representing:	
Senator Lou Ann Linehan		Introducer	
Bill Starkey		Self	
Bob Twiss		Self	
Opponents:		Representing:	
Senator Steve Erdman		District 47	
Richard Chilton		Self	
Kristen Dupree		Self	
Neutral:		Representing:	
Nathan Kade Leach		Nonpartisan Nebraska	
Tracy Overstreet		Hall County Election Office	
Sharon Bohling		Self	
Mike Vance		Seward County Sheriff's Office	
Brad Best		School Districts of District 24	
Sandra Black		Self	
Vincent Litwicnowicz		Self	
James Federick		Self Barragant La Omaha, Common Course Nahragka, Bark tha	
Wesley Dodge		Represent Us Omaha, Common Cause Nebraska, Rank the Vote Nebraska	
Danielle Conrad		ACLU of Nebraska	
Samantha Chavez		Nonpartisan Nebraska	
Steven Watson		Self	
Teresa Claude		Self	
Stephen Knight		Self	

Kariha Hernandez	Nebraska Civic Engagement Table
Michael Osborn	Self
John Sieler	Self
Steven Dawes	Self
Cindy Maxwell-Ostdiek	Self
Will Langan	Self

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB5 changes the boundaries of the public service commissioner districts by the adoption of maps by reference.

The state is divided into five public service commissioner districts. The overall range of deviation is approximately 8.5 percent. Districts are drawn using census geography and population data from the 2020 US Census.

The maps are to be kept in the Secretary of State's Office.

The bill includes an emergency clause.

Lou Ann Linehan, Chairperson