ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2021 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LB549

Hearing Date: Tuesday March 02, 2021

Committee On: Urban Affairs Introducer: Wayne

One Liner: Adopt the Aid to Municipalities Act

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File with amendment(s)

Vote Results:

Aye: 7 Senators Arch, Blood, Briese, Hansen, M., Hunt, Lowe, Wayne

Nay: Absent:

Present Not Voting:

Oral Testimony:

Proponents: Representing:

Senator Justin Wayne Legislative District 13

Christy Abraham League of Nebraska Municipalities

Eric Gerrard City of Lincoln Jack Cheloha City of Omaha

Opponents: Representing:

Neutral: Representing:

Submitted Written Testimony:

Proponents: Representing:

Camdyn Kavan Open Sky Policy Institute

Opponents: Representing:

Neutral: Representing:

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 549 would adopt the Aid to Municipalities Act. Under the Act, municipalities would be eligible to apply for state aid in the form of grants which may be used to assist in funding a variety of municipal infrastructure projects.

Explanation of amendments:

AM 741 is a white-copy amendment that replaces the bill.

The amendment would adopt the Municipal Natural Gas System Emergency Assistance Act. Under the Act, municipalities which own or operate a natural gas plant or natural gas system could apply to the State Treasurer for emergency grant funding to cover up to ninety percent of extraordinary costs incurred by the municipality as a result of an extreme weather event.

The amendment provides for a one-time transfer of ten million dollars from the General Fund to provide emergency grants under the Act. The Act terminates on June 30, 2023.

AM 741 contains the emergency clause.

AM 741 incorporates concepts from LR 49, which examined the impact of the February 2021 "cold snap" on natural gas supply, natural gas prices, and the performance of natural gas utilities in Nebraska.

Testifiers on LR 49:

Proponents:

Nichole Mulcahy, Public Service Commission
Lash Chaffin, League of Nebraska Municipalities
Kevin Jarosz, Black Hills Energy
Mark Mendenhall, Metropolitan Utilities District
Dennis Placke, NorthWestern Energy

Beth Ackland, National Public Gas Agency/Public Alliance for Community Energy

Ryan Hurst, City of Wahoo Utilities

Opponents: None Neutral: None

Justin Wayne, Chairperson