ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SPECIAL SESSION - 2021 COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LB3

Hearing Date:	Thursday September 16, 2021		
Committee On:	Redistricting		
Introducer:	Redistricting		
One Liner:	Set boundaries of legislative districts		

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File

Vote Results:

Aye:	5	Senators Brewer, Briese, Geist, Linehan, Lowe
Nay:	4	Senators Blood, Lathrop, Morfeld, Wayne
Absent:		
Present Not Votin	g:	

Oral Testimony:	
Proponents:	Representing:
Senator Lou Ann Linehan	Introducer
Senator Dan Hughes	District 44
Senator Rita Sanders	District 45
Kathy Wilmot	Self
Jasper Fanning	Self
Sherry Jones	Self
Bill Starkey	Self
Hal Daub	Self
Nora Sandine	Self
Mary Jane Truemper	Self
Roberta Adams	Self
Margie Mosier	Self
Bob Twiss	Self
Lori Woosley	Self
Nina Head	Self
Tyler Henningsen	Self
Opponents:	Representing:
Senator Steve Erdman	District 47
Senator Mark Kolterman	District 24
Adam Jacobs	Self
Yolanda Chaez Nuncio	Self
Richard Chilton	Self
Lisa Hurley	York County Development Corporation
Sandra Black	Self
Carina McCormick	Self

Wesley Crabb Gina Frank Sheri St Clair Carol Beaty Carmen Bunde Dave Richardson Kristie Pfabe Kristen Dupree Carol Gottsch Fred Robertson Sara Lee Cassandra Griffin Curtis Bryant Stephanie Fritson Suzan DeCamp

Neutral:

Senator Matt Williams Stuart Fox Todd Rhodes Leslie Marsh Nathan Kade Leach Craig Uden Sherry Vinton Tracy Overstreet Sharon Bohling Chad Nabity Mike Vance Al Davis Cynthia Hartley Brad Best Jim Bunch Vincent Litwinowicz James Frederick Wesley Dodge

Gavin Geis Danielle Conrad Creighton Hoefer William Forsee Barb Wagner Samantha Chavez Steve Watson Teresa Claude Stephen Knight Kariha Hernandez Jay Oxton Michael Osborn John Sieler

Representing:

District 36 Nebraska State Bank & Trust Co. - District 36 Gothenburg Public Schools - District 36 Critical Access Hospitals - District 36 Nonpartisan Nebraska Self - District 36 Nebraska Farm Bureau Federation Hall County Election Office Self Self Seward County Sheriff's Office Nonpartisan Nebraska Self School Districts of District 24 Self Self Self Represent Us Omaha, Common Cause Nebraska, Rank the Vote Nebraska Common Cause Nebraska ACLU of Nebraska Common Cause Nebraska Self Self Nonpartisan Nebraska Self Self Self Nebraska Civic Engagement Table Self Self Self

Steven Dawes	Self
Cindy Maxwell-Ostdiek	Self
Will Langan	Self

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB3 changes the boundaries of the members of the Legislature by the adoption of maps by reference.

The state is divided into 49 single-member districts. The ideal district size is 40,031.

Current Legislative District No. 24 is moved to Sarpy County. The overall range of deviation is approximately 9.4 percent.

Districts are drawn using census geography and population data from the 2020 US Census.

The maps are to be kept in the Secretary of State's Office.

The bill includes an emergency clause.

Lou Ann Linehan, Chairperson