ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SPECIAL SESSION - 2021 COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LB1

Hearing Date: Committee On:	Thursday September 16, 2021 Redistricting
Introducer:	Redistricting
One Liner:	Set district boundaries of the Representatives in the Congress of the United States

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File

Vote Results:

Aye: Nay: Absent: **Present Not Voting:**

5

4

Senators Linehan, Brewer, Briese, Geist, Lowe Senators Wayne, Blood, Lathrop, Morfeld

Oral Testimony:

Proponents:	Representing:
Senator Lou Ann Linehan	Introducer
Senator Mike Moser	District 22
Senator Rita Sanders	District 45
Senator Julie Slama	District 1
Kathy Wilmot	Self
Bill Starkey	Self
Dawson Brunswick	Columbus Area Chamber of Commerce
Jane Kinsey	Watchdogs of Lincoln Government
Nicole Stransky	Self
Hal Daub	Self
Nora Sandine	Self
Mary Jane Truemper	Self
Kristen Dupree	Self
Roberta Adams	Self
Margie Mosier	Self
Bob Twiss	Self
Mike Evans	Mayor of Gretna, 1 Sarpy County
Lori Woosley	Self
Nina Head	Self
Terri Crawford	Self
Tyler Henningsen	Self
Opponents:	Representing:
Senator Steve Erdman	District 47
Richard Chilton	Self
Alan Meyer	Self

Kendall Bartling Sandra Black Luke Schroer Zachary Burns Wesley Crabb Sheri St. Clair Alisha Shelton Preston Love Jr. Carol Beaty Joel Wentworth Steve Jordan Dave Richardson Kristie Pfabe William Hay **Cole Christensen Drew Pauly** Carol Gottsch Karen Boehm Fred Robertson Allyson Wagner Sara Lee Cassandra Griffin Gabrielle Rima Westin Miller Heather Engdahl Rebecca Gasper **Curtis Bryant** Stephanie Fritson Suzan DeCamp Madelin Baugous **Rachel Gibson** Debra McKnight

Neutral:

Nathan Kade Leach Sherry Vinton Tracy Overstreet Sharon Bohling Brad Best Lynda King Jim Bunch Vincent Litwinowicz James Frederick Wesley Dodge

Gavin Geis Danielle Conrad Creighton Hoefer Mike Vance Self Self Self Self Self League of Women Voters of Nebraska Self Black Votes Matters Self Strongly Worded Letters Civic Nebraska Self Self Self Self Self Self League of Women Voters Nebraska United Methodist Church

Representing:

Nonpartisan Nebraska Nebraska Farm Bureau Federation Hall County Election Office Self School Districts of District 24 League of Women Voters Self Self Self Represent Us Omaha, Rank the Vote Nebraska, Common Cause Nebraska Common Cause Nebraska ACLU of Nebraska Common Cause Nebraska Seward County Sheriff's Office

Samantha Chavez	Nonpartisan Nebraska
Steven Watson	Self
Tim Rouse	Self
Teresa Claude	Self
Stephen Knight	Self
Kariha Hernandez	Nebraska Civic Engagement Table
Corbin Delgado	Self
Michael Osborn	Self
John Sieler	Self
Steven Dawes	Self
Cindy Maxwell-Ostdiek	Self
Will Langan	Self

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB1 changes district boundaries of the members of the Representatives in the Congress of the United States by the adoption of maps by reference.

The state is divided into three congressional districts. The overall range of deviation is approximately 0 percent.

The districts are drawn using census geography and population data from the 2020 US Census.

The maps are to be kept in the Secretary of State's Office.

The bill includes an emergency clause.

Lou Ann Linehan, Chairperson