ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2021 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LB16

Hearing Date: Tuesday February 09, 2021 **Committee On:** Nebraska Retirement Systems

Introducer: Kolterman

One Liner: Provide for state contributions to the Nebraska Retirement Fund for Judges

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File with amendment(s)

Vote Results:

Aye: 6 Senators Clements, Kolterman, Lindstrom, McDonnell, Slama, Stinner

Nay: Absent:

Present Not Voting:

Oral Testimony:

Proponents: Representing:
Mark Kolterman Introducer

Mike Heavican Nebraska Judiciary Supreme Court

Opponents: Representing:

Neutral: Representing:

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 16 as introduced, proposes to add an annual contribution from the State to the Judges' Retirement Fund of 4% of total compensation of the members of the judges' plan beginning on July 1, 2021 and increasing the percentage to 6% beginning July 1, 2023.

Explanation of amendments:

Committee AM 666

Motion to adopt AM 666 which strikes the original provisions of LB 16 and becomes the bill. Vote results: 6-0-0-0. Voting aye: Clements, Kolterman, Lindstrom, McDonnell, Slama and Stinner.

Oral Testimony

Proponents: Tyler Mahood, for Introducer Senator Mark Kolterman

Randy Gerke, Nebraska Public Employees Retirement Systems, Public Employees Retirement Board

Opponents: None Neutral: None

Committee amendment AM 666 becomes the bill. It strikes the original provisions of LB 16 and inserts the provisions of LB 17 as introduced to adopt shorter amortization periods to reflect current actuarial standards as recommended by the

| General Finance Officers Association and the actuary under contract with the Public Employees Retirement Board. Beginning July 1, 2021, closed 25-year amortization periods will apply to all new bases, rather than the current 30-year amortization period in the Judges, State Patrol and School Employees Retirement Acts. The language also authorizes the actuary to combine or offset certain amortization bases to reduce future volatility of the actuarial contribution rate. | |
|---|-------------------------------|
| | Mark Kolterman, Chairperson |
| | iviaik Kolleiman, Ghailpeison |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |