LR290 2020

## ONE HUNDRED SIXTH LEGISLATURE

## SECOND SESSION

## **LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 290**

Introduced by Hughes, 44.

WHEREAS, the FFA team from Chase County High School, including Brooklyn Christensen, Valerie Herbert, Lindsey Mendenhall, Courtney Odens, Alexis Richmond, and Jozie Schilke, led by coaches Jeremy Vlasin and Jason Speck, won the National Parliamentary Procedure Leadership Development Event at the 2019 National FFA Convention in Indianapolis; and

WHEREAS, the FFA parliamentary procedure competition tests a six-person team using Robert's Rules of Order to present ideas during a business meeting. Each team must take a written exam, conduct a ten-minute demonstration, answer parliamentary law questions, and prepare minutes from their demonstration; and

WHEREAS, the Chase County High School FFA team performed a demonstration three times during preliminary, semi-final, and final rounds; and

WHEREAS, this is the first time a Nebraska team has won the FFA parliamentary procedure competition; and

WHEREAS, the National FFA Organization provides leadership, personal growth, and career success training through agricultural education throughout the United States; and

WHEREAS, the Legislature recognizes the academic, athletic, and artistic achievements of the youth of our state.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED SIXTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, SECOND SESSION:

1. That the Legislature congratulates the Imperial Chapter of the National FFA Organization for representing Nebraska and winning the National Parliamentary Procedure Leadership Development Event at the Ninety-Second National FFA Convention.

2. That a copy of this resolution be sent to Chase County High School.

-1-