LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA

ONE HUNDRED SIXTH LEGISLATURE

FIRST SESSION

LEGISLATIVE BILL 309

FINAL READING

Introduced by Lathrop, 12.

Read first time January 15, 2019

Committee: Judiciary

- 1 A BILL FOR AN ACT relating to courts; to amend section 24-301.02, Revised
- 2 Statutes Cumulative Supplement, 2018; to increase the number of
- 3 district judges in the fourth judicial district; and to repeal the
- 4 original section.
- 5 Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

LB309 LB309 2019 2019 1 Section 1. Section 24-301.02, Revised Statutes Cumulative 2 Supplement, 2018, is amended to read: 24-301.02 The State of Nebraska shall be divided into the following 3 twelve district court judicial districts: 4 5 District No. 1 shall contain the counties of Saline, Jefferson, Gage, Thayer, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha, Fillmore, Richardson, and Otoe; 6 7 District No. 2 shall contain the counties of Sarpy and Cass; District No. 3 shall contain the county of Lancaster; 8 9 District No. 4 shall contain the county of Douglas; 10 District No. 5 shall contain the counties of Merrick, Platte, Colfax, Boone, Nance, Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward, and Saunders; 11 District No. 6 shall contain the counties of Dixon, Dakota, Cedar, 12 Burt, Thurston, Dodge, and Washington; 13 District No. 7 shall contain the counties of Knox, Cuming, Antelope, 14 Pierce, Wayne, Madison, and Stanton; 15 District No. 8 shall contain the counties of Cherry, Keya Paha, 16 17 Brown, Rock, Blaine, Loup, Custer, Boyd, Holt, Garfield, Wheeler, Valley, Greeley, Sherman, and Howard; 18 District No. 9 shall contain the counties of Buffalo and Hall; 19 District No. 10 shall contain the counties of Adams, Phelps, 20 Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, Webster, Clay, and Nuckolls; 21 District No. 11 shall contain the counties of Hooker, Thomas, 22 Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith, Perkins, Lincoln, Dawson, Chase, Hayes, 23 Frontier, Gosper, Dundy, Hitchcock, Red Willow, and Furnas; and 24 25 District No. 12 shall contain the counties of Sioux, Dawes, Box Sheridan, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, 26 Butte, Banner, Kimball, Chevenne, Grant, and Deuel. 27 28 Until July 1, 2021, in In the fourth district there shall be sixteen judges of the district court. Beginning July 1, 2021, in the fourth 29 judicial district there shall be seventeen judges of the district court. 30

-2-

31

In the third district there shall be eight judges of the district

1 court. In the second, fifth, ninth, eleventh, and twelfth districts there
2 shall be four judges of the district court. In the first and sixth
3 districts there shall be three judges of the district court. In the
4 seventh, eighth, and tenth districts there shall be two judges of the
5 district court.

6 Sec. 2. Original section 24-301.02, Revised Statutes Cumulative
7 Supplement, 2018, is repealed.