## ONE HUNDRED SIXTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2019 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LB381

Hearing Date: Thursday February 14, 2019

Committee On: Government, Military and Veterans Affairs

Introducer: Hansen, B.

One Liner: Change expense reimbursement provisions for state officers and agencies

## **Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:**

Advanced to General File with amendment(s)

Vote Results:

Aye: 7 Senators Blood, Brewer, Hansen, M., Hunt, Kolowski, La Grone, Lowe

Nay:

**Absent:** 1 Senator Hilgers

**Present Not Voting:** 

**Oral Testimony:** 

Proponents:Representing:Senator Ben HansenIntroducerJason JacksonDAS

Kyle Schneweis

NE Department of Transportation

Russ Karpisek

Nebraska Auditor of Public Accounts

Opponents: Representing:

Neutral: Representing:

## Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 381 is a 144-page bill revising 147 sections of statute. It would modify meal and incidental travel expense reimbursement. It would affect all state officers, employees, and members of any state commission, council, committee or board. Most of the changes proposed in the bill are harmonizing changes and insertions of references to Section 81-1174, which is the location in statute where the substance of this bill would be inserted. (See LB 381, p. 105, lines 8 through 16).

The essential policy change proposed in LB 381 would be to provide that reimbursement of travel expenses would be made based on the federal General Services Administration per diem rates and in accordance with rules promulgated by the Director of the Department of Administrative services. The DAS policy could not set a reimbursement rate in excess of 100 percent or less than 75 percent of the federal rate.

## **Explanation of amendments:**

The committee amendment, AM 207, specifies that different federal reimbursement standards will be used for travel (1) in the contiguous United States (GSA standard), (2) to Alaska, Hawaii, territories, and possessions (DOD standard), and (3) international travel (State Department standard).

Tom Brewer, Chairperson