ONE HUNDRED SIXTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2019 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LB32

Hearing Date: Tuesday January 29, 2019 **Committee On:** Nebraska Retirement Systems

Introducer: Kolterman

One Liner: Change defined contribution benefit investment options as prescribed under the County Employees

Retirement Act and State Employees Retirement Act

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File

Vote Results:

Aye: 6 Senators Bolz, Groene, Kolowski, Kolterman, Lindstrom, Stinner

Nay: Absent:

Present Not Voting:

Oral Testimony:

Proponents: Representing:
Senator Mark Kolterman Introducer

Michael Walden-Newman Nebraska Investment Council

Randy Gerke Nebraska Public Employees Retirement Systems,

Public Employees Retirement Board

Beth Bazyn Ferrell Nebraska Association of County Officials

Opponents: Representing:

Neutral: Representing:

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 32 was introduced at the request of the Nebraska Investment Council. As part of the Council%u2019s ongoing review of investments to reflect best practices, the Council is recommending making the following changes to the investment options:

- Replace the age-based, premixed (balanced) and investor select option with Target Date Funds
- Remove the money market investment option
- Remove the S&P Index Fund

Investment options will continue to also include:

- An investor select account invested under the direction of the SIO with an asset allocation and investment strategy substantially similar to the investment allocations made by the SIO for the DB plans
- A stable return account that provides capital preservation and consistent steady returns
- An equities account
- A fixed income account in fixed income instruments

The investment options are listed in the County and State Employees Retirement Acts for Defined Contribution members, but these same investment options are used for members with Deferred Compensation accounts and State Patrol officers who have entered the Deferred Option Retirement Plan.

The effective date is January 1, 2021.

Mark Kolterman, Chairperson