## ONE HUNDRED FIFTH LEGISLATURE

## SECOND SESSION

## **LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 488**

Introduced by Erdman, 47.

WHEREAS, the National FFA Organization makes a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth, and career success through agricultural education; and

WHEREAS, the FFA motto is, "Learning to Do, Doing to Learn, Earning to Live, Living to Serve"; and

WHEREAS, the FFA is comprised of 653,359 student members in grades seven through twelve who belong to one of 8,568 local FFA chapters throughout the United States, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands; and

WHEREAS, there are more than 8,000 student members belonging to 184 local FFA chapters across Nebraska; and

WHEREAS, the ninetieth Nebraska FFA State Convention was held April 4-6, 2018, at the Pinnacle Bank Arena in Lincoln; and

WHEREAS, thirty-one students applied to serve as Nebraska FFA State
Officers and were interviewed by the nominating committee; and

WHEREAS, the Nebraska FFA State Officers were selected at the Nebraska FFA State Convention; and

WHEREAS, Amanda Most was selected to be the 2018 President of the Nebraska State FFA. Amanda is a member of the Ogallala FFA chapter, which was started in 2015 when Amanda was a sophomore; and

WHEREAS, Grady Johnson of the Holdredge FFA chapter was selected to serve as the State Secretary; and

WHEREAS, Brooke Bell of the David City FFA chapter, Brytany Gama of the Omaha Bryan FFA chapter, Marie Meis of the Elgin FFA chapter, Halie Andreasen of the Boone Central FFA chapter, and Jordan Popp of the Broken Bow FFA chapter were selected to serve as State Vice Presidents.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED FIFTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, SECOND SESSION:

- 1. That the Legislature congratulates Amanda Most, Grady Johnson, Brooke Bell, Brytany Gama, Marie Meis, Halie Andreasen, and Jordan Popp on their positions as 2018 Nebraska FFA State Officers.
- 2. That the 2018 Nebraska State Officers are encouraged to continue pursuing excellence in agricultural education and to exercise strong leadership as they lead the Nebraska State FFA.
- 3. That copies of this resolution be sent to Amanda Most, Grady Johnson, Brooke Bell, Brytany Gama, Marie Meis, Halie Andreasen, and Jordan Popp.