## ONE HUNDRED FIFTH LEGISLATURE

## SECOND SESSION

## **LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 358**

Introduced by Thibodeau, 6; Harr, 8; Hilgers, 21; Krist, 10.

WHEREAS, the Omaha Creighton Prep academic decathlon team won the largeschool division and the overall state title at the 2018 Nebraska Academic Decathlon; and

WHEREAS, the Academic Decathlon is a national program that engages scholars throughout the country; and

WHEREAS, each year a different topic is chosen and students study that topic through the fields of literature, art, music, math, science, economics, history, speech, interview, and essay. The topic for this year was Africa; and

WHEREAS, this competition promotes academic growth, teamwork, and communication skills among students of all achievement levels; and

WHEREAS, Gabe Drew, Joe McGill, Matthew Muellner, Aidan Beuchler, Jack Mowat, Paul Martin, Aidan Weindel, Isaiah Hogue, Aidan Filipi, Marcus Steinke, and Mitch Masker displayed diligence preparing for the competition; and

WHEREAS, Coaches Barbara Hake, Elaine Ayers, and Mattie Olsen did a tremendous job of mentoring the team, with the assistance of team managers Sean Patterson, Max Lauritsen, De Vanni Tang, Joey Kaplan, and Yoobin Ha; and

WHEREAS, the Legislature recognizes the academic, athletic, and artistic achievements of the youth of our state.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED FIFTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, SECOND SESSION:

- 1. That the Legislature congratulates the Omaha Creighton Prep academic decathlon team on winning the 2018 Nebraska Academic Decathlon.
- 2. That a copy of this resolution be sent to the Omaha Creighton Prep academic decathlon team and coaches Barbara Hake, Elaine Ayers, and Mattie Olsen.