ONE HUNDRED FIFTH LEGISLATURE

SECOND SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 334

Introduced by Geist, 25.

WHEREAS, the Lincoln East High School wrestling team won the 2018 Class A State Wrestling Championship; and

WHEREAS, Lincoln East had not won the State Wrestling team title since 2004; and

WHEREAS, the Lincoln East Spartans were the only team at the championship meet to have an entry qualify in each of the fourteen weight classes; and

WHEREAS, sophomore Maxx Mayfield won the 120-pound division title, junior Chance Fry won the 145-pound division title, and senior DaShawn Dixon won the 152-pound division title; and

WHEREAS, junior Andrew (A.J.) Muthersbaugh was the runner-up in the 182pound division; and

WHEREAS, the other Spartans competing in the State Wrestling Championship included seniors Elliot Alexander, Corbin Harrington, Cade Kammerer, Adam Kinnaman, and Drake Reinke, juniors Chris Karmazin and Nathan Rizek, sophomores Grant Lyman and Breckin Sperling, and freshman Nic Swift; and

WHEREAS, co-head coaches, Jeff Rutledge and Keenan McCurdy, led the team with their experience as alumni of the program, former individual state champions, and members of a state title team; and

WHEREAS, the Legislature recognizes the academic, athletic, and artistic achievements of the youth of our state.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED FIFTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, SECOND SESSION:

1. That the Legislature congratulates the Lincoln East High School wrestling team on its state wrestling championship and Maxx Mayfield, Chance Fry, and DaShawn Dixon on their individual state wrestling titles.

2. That copies of this resolution be sent to Lincoln East High School, wrestlers Maxx Mayfield, Chance Fry, and DaShawn Dixon, and coaches Jeff Rutledge and Keenan McCurdy.