ONE HUNDRED FIFTH LEGISLATURE

FIRST SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 32

Introduced by Stinner, 48.

WHEREAS, the Nebraska Dry Bean Commission was created as a part of the Dry Bean Resources Act with the passage of Legislative Bill 145 in 1987; and

WHEREAS, Legislative Bill 145 was introduced by Senators John Weihing and Dennis Baack and was signed into law by Governor Kay Orr on March 30, 1987; and

WHEREAS, the Nebraska Dry Bean Commission was created to allow dry bean producers and processors the ability to adopt and devise a dry bean program consisting of research, education, advertising, publicity, and promotion to increase total consumption of dry beans on a state, national, and international basis; and

WHEREAS, the majority of Nebraska's dry bean production occurs along the North Platte River located in the panhandle, southwestern, north central, and central regions of Nebraska; and

WHEREAS, Nebraska has historically been the third largest producer of dry edible beans in the United States, producing an average of 2,270 pounds per acre on 122,000 acres for a total production of 2.766 million hundredweight bags; and

WHEREAS, Nebraska is the largest domestic producer of great northern beans, with approximately 85% of all national production occurring within 75 miles of Scottsbluff; and

WHEREAS, Nebraska is the second largest producer of pinto beans and light red kidney beans in this country; and

WHEREAS, the production of dry edible beans has a significant economic impact in this state; and

WHEREAS, dry edible beans are a low-cost, nutrient-dense food compatible with many current food trends, including high-protein, high-fiber, low-fat,

plant-based protein, and low-cholesterol diets.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED FIFTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, FIRST SESSION:

1. That the Legislature recognizes February 7, 2017, as the 30th anniversary of the Nebraska Dry Bean Commission.