ONE HUNDRED FOURTH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION - 2016 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LB958

Hearing Dates: Thursday February 04, 2016

Thursday March 24, 2016

Committee On: Revenue **Introducer:** Gloor

One Liner: Change provisions relating to budgets, the valuation of agricultural land, and levy limitations

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File with amendment(s)

Vote Results:

Aye: 7 Senators Brasch, Davis, Gloor, Harr, Scheer, Schumacher, Sullivan

Nay:

Absent:

Present Not Voting: 1 Senator Smith

Verbal Testimony:

Proponents: Representing:

Senator Mike Gloor Introducer

Governor Pete Ricketts State of Nebraska

Ruth Sorensen Nebraska Department of Revenue
Stephen Nelson Nebraska Farm Bureau Federation

Jim VokalPlatte InstituteBob KittelsonLincoln, NebraskaKen HerzNebraska Cattlemen

Opponents: Representing:

Mayor Chris Beutler City of Lincoln

Renee Fry OpenSky Policy Institute

Mayor Douglas Kindig United Cities of Sarpy County

Mike Marvin Nebraska Association of Public Employees/American

Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees

Local 61

Harold Peterson City of Ogallala

Mayor Marlene Johnson City of West Point; League of Nebraska Municipalities

James Templar Gering Rural Fire Department
Lance Hedquist City of South Sioux City

Ryan Purdy Mid Plains Community College
Paul Illich Southeast Community College

Johnathan Hladik Center for Rural Affairs

Joe Birkel David City Rural Fire District #9

Ned Meier Grand Island, Nebraska

Randy Schmailzl Metropolitan Community College

Joe Mangiamelli City of Columbus
Steve Curtiss City of Omaha
Dennis Meyer Lancaster County

John Turnbull Nebraska Association of Resources Districts

Tom Placzek Nebraska Association of County Officials; Platte County

Assessor

John Worthing Elm Creek Public Schools

Rodney Storm City of Blair

Don Wesely

Cities of Kearney, Hastings and Lexington

Nebraska Rural Community Schools Association

Virgil Harden Greater Nebraska Schools Association

Liz Standish Lincoln Public Schools

Michael Goodwillie Douglas County Assessor/Register of Deeds
Larry Dix Nebraska Association of County Officials
Lynn Rex League of Nebraska Municipalities

John Hansen Nebraska Farmers Union

Neutral: Representing:

Matthew Eash Nebraska School Finance Strategies

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB958 affects local governmental units and the valuation of agricultural and horticultural land. The intent of LB958 is to slow down the increase in state-wide agricultural and horticultural land valuation and to slow the growth of property taxes levied by the political subdivisions. Slowing the growth of spending and property taxes levied by school districts is in LB959, the companion bill to LB958.

The bill has three parts: 1) Limitations on the budget of restricted funds, 2) Exclusions to the levy limit, and 3) Limiting the state-wide increase in agricultural and horticultural land valuations to 3 percent.

The bill contains the Emergency Clause.

Explanation of amendments:

A public hearing for AM 2717 to LB 958 was held Thursday, March 24, 2016 at 2:00 pm in room 1524. Testimony was heard on each of the two components of the amendment.

The Amendment becomes the bill.

1) The amendment also changes the allocation of the Property Tax Credit beginning in tax year 2017. New language increases the allocation for agricultural and horticultural land to 133% of taxable value. This has the effect of allocating the credit at full taxable value for ag land rather than the current 75% of taxable value. There is no change to the credit allocation for all other property, but new language provides that non-agricultural property will receive the same amount of credit for tax year 2017 as it received in tax year 2016.

Proponents:

Senator Mike Gloor - Introducer

Steve Nelson - Nebraska Farm Bureau Federation

John Hansen - Nebraska Farmer's Union
Dave McCracken - Nebraska Cattlemen
Bob Wickersham - Self
Opponents:
Bruce Bohrer - Lincoln Chamber of Commerce, Nebraska Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Greater Omaha Chamber
of Commerce
Johnathan Hladik - Center for Rural Affairs
Renee Fry - OpenSky Policy Institute
Hannah Young - Nonprofit Association of the Midlands
Neutral:
Dennis Schuster - Self
Larry Dix - Nebraska Association of County Officials
2) It provides that a new limitation on Community Colleges is effective for fiscal years beginning July 1, 2017. The amendment does not limit the carryover of unused restricted funds from one fiscal year to the next, but does limit the amount of the carryover to 3% of the total restricted funds from the previous year, after accounting for exclusions.
Proponents:
None
Opponents:
Dale Kruse - Southeast Community College
Randy Schmailzl - Metropolitan Community College
Paul Illich - Southeast Community College
John Hansen - Nebraska Farmers Union
Scott Volk - Metalquest
Galen Boldt - Wahoo Public Schools
Bruce Bohrer - Lincoln Chamber of Commerce, Nebraska Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Greater Omaha Chamber
of Commerce
Neutral:
Loy Todd - Nebraska New Car & Truck Dealers Association
The amendment provides further that for tax year 2017 the total amount of the credit shall be \$234 million.

Mike Gloor, Chairperson