ONE HUNDRED FOURTH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION - 2016 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LB889

Hearing Date: Wednesday February 03, 2016

Committee On: Revenue Introducer: Mello

One Liner: Adopt the School Readiness Tax Credit Act

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File with amendment(s)

Vote Results:

Aye: 8 Senators Davis, Brasch, Gloor, Harr, Scheer, Schumacher, Smith,

Sullivan

Nay: Absent:

Present Not Voting:

Verbal Testimony:

Proponents: Representing:

Senator Heath Mello Introducer

Sarah Ann Kotchian Holland's Children Movement

Dr. Geoffrey Nagle Erikson Institute

Tracy Gordon Nebraska Association for Education of Young Children,

Inc.

Susan Sarver Buffet Early Childhood Institute

Jen Goettemoeller First Five Nebraska

Opponents: Representing:

Neutral: Representing:

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

The School Readiness Tax Credit Act would create a series of tiered tax credits relating to early childhood education. LB 889 proposes 4 categories of credits that would become effective on or after January 1, 2017: a credit for parents, a credit for early childhood programs, a credit for the early childhood workforce, and a credit for businesses that support eligible programs.

The tax credits in LB 889 would be directly aligned with Nebraska's Step Up to Quality program that is administered by the Nebraska Department of Education in coordination with the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services.

Explanation of amendments:

The amendment becomes the bill. It removes both the business expense credit and the individual (parent) credit. It changes the staff credit by reducing the credit amounts, inserting a "floor" or starting point for eligibility based on a minimum certification and by excluding certificated teaching and administrative staff from the definition of eligible staff so as to exclude school district staff.

A five year sunset is nonrefundable.	imposed on	the credits	along	with a \$	5 million	annual	cap and	makes the	e provider credit
								Mileo Cl	oor Chairnaraan
								wike Gi	oor, Chairperson