ONE HUNDRED FOURTH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION - 2016 COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LB760

Hearing Date:	Tuesday January 19, 2016
Committee On:	Banking, Commerce and Insurance
Introducer:	Scheer
One Liner:	Update certain references to the federal Electronic Fund Transfer Act

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File

Vote Results:

Ауе:	8		Campbell, ner, Williams	•	Fox,	Gloor,	Lindstrom,	Scheer,
Nay: Absent: Present Not Voting:								
	Verbal Testimo	ony:						
Proponents:			Repre	senting:				
Senator Jim Scheer			Introdu	ucer				
Director Mark Quandahl		NE De	NE Dept. of Banking and Finance					
Opponents:			Repre	senting:				
Neutral:			Repre	senting:				

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB760, introduced at the request of the Nebraska Department of Banking and Finance, would amend various sections related to financial institutions. The bill would provide, section by section, as follows:

Section 1 would amend section 8-135 of the Nebraska Banking Act relating to deposit accounts. The amendment would update a reference to the federal Electronic Fund Transfer Act from the current January 1, 2013 reference date to January 1, 2016.

Section 2 would amend section 8-157.01 of the Nebraska Banking Act relating to electronic switches and automatic teller machines. The amendment would update a reference to the federal Electronic Fund Transfer Act from the current January 1, 2015 reference date to January 1, 2016.

Section 3 would amend section 8-318 relating to share accounts in building and loan associations. The amendment would update a reference to the federal Electronic Fund Transfer Act from the current September 4, 2005 reference date to January 1, 2016.

Section 4 would amend section 8-345.01 relating to the authority of building and loan associations to establish automatic teller machines. The amendment would update a cross-reference to the former statute governing automatic teller machines, section 8-157, to the current statute, section 8-157.01.

Section 5 would provide for repealers of amendatory sections.

Jim Scheer, Chairperson