LR429

ONE HUNDRED SECOND LEGISLATURE

SECOND SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 429

Introduced by Avery, 28.

WHEREAS, the Nebraska National Guard has played a major role in support of Operation Noble Eagle, the protection of the United States; Operation Enduring Freedom in Afghanistan; Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation New Dawn in Iraq and Kuwait; and Operation Unified Protector in Libya; and

WHEREAS, Nebraska Army National Guard missions have included security, force protection, transportation, logistic support, quick reaction force, forward area support, rear area support, medical support, aviation maintenance, aviation support, medical evacuation, both air and ground, reconnaissance and surveillance, law and order, including police investigation, direct support maintenance, and agricultural development; and

WHEREAS, Nebraska Air National Guard missions have included aerial refueling, aerial medical evacuation, maintenance, engineering, supply mobility support, financial management, and security; and

WHEREAS, Nebraska National Guard personnel have completed over 10,000 individual deployments to more than twenty foreign countries since September 11, 2001; and

WHEREAS, Sergeant Patrick Douglas Hamburger gave his last full measure of devotion, sacrificing his life for our state and nation; and

-1-

WHEREAS, the Silver Star, the third highest award exclusively for combat valor, was presented to Second Lieutenant Bradley Duane Larson; and

WHEREAS, the Soldier's Medal, awarded for heroism in noncombat circumstances, was presented to Staff Sergeant Justin Dean McCoy and Staff Sergeant Eric Lee Schnell; and

WHEREAS, the Bronze Star Medal with Valor, awarded for heroic or meritorious achievement or service, was presented to Specialist Eric Ryan Blackburn; and

WHEREAS, the Purple Heart, awarded to members of the United States Armed Forces who were wounded or killed as a direct result of enemy actions, was presented to Second Lieutenant Bradley Duane Larson, Sergeant First Class Daniel Robert Malizzi, Staff Sergeant Seth Daniel Wecker, Staff Sergeant Brian Wayne Anderson, Staff Sergeant Michael George Cordes, Staff Sergeant James Matthew Dubbs, Sergeant Jeffrey Allan Burton, Sergeant Patrick Douglas Hamburger, Sergeant David Jerome Suing, Specialist Eric Ryan Blackburn, and Specialist Alex Benjamin Young; and

WHEREAS, the Army Commendation Medal with Valor, awarded for heroism, meritorious achievement, or meritorious service, was presented to Specialist Alex Benjamin Young and Staff Sergeant Timothy Daniel Hartmann.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED SECOND LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, SECOND SESSION:

1. That the Legislature extends its thanks to and honors the honorees named in this resolution for their sacrifice and service to the State of Nebraska and the United States of America. 2. That a copy of this resolution be sent to all the honorees named in this resolution.