LR129 LR129

ONE HUNDRED SECOND LEGISLATURE

FIRST SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 129

Introduced by Janssen, 15; Howard, 9; Larson, 40; Price, 3; Schilz, 47.

WHEREAS, on Saturday, March 12, 2011, the University of Nebraska at Omaha Maverick wrestling team won the 2011 Division II National Wrestling Championship; and

WHEREAS, the Maverick wrestling team has now won three consecutive national championships, as well as six of the last eight national championships; and

WHEREAS, Mario Morgan (141 pounds), Esai Dominguez (149 pounds), George Ivanov (157 pounds), Ryan Pankoke (174 pounds), Aaron Denson (184 pounds), Matt Baker (197 pounds), and Taylor Escamilla (285 pounds) earned All-American status; and

WHEREAS, Mario Morgan (141 pounds), Ryan Pankoke (174 pounds), and Aaron Denson (184 pounds) won individual national championships; and

WHEREAS, the Maverick wrestling team has brought pride and honor to the State of Nebraska.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED SECOND LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, FIRST SESSION:

- 1. That the Legislature congratulates the University of Nebraska at Omaha Maverick wrestling team on winning the 2011 Division II National Wrestling Championship.
- 2. That the Legislature recognizes the achievements of the team's wrestlers, coaches, and staff.

LR129

3. That a copy of this resolution be sent to the University of Nebraska at Omaha and to each coach and member of the 2011 University of Nebraska at Omaha Maverick wrestling team.