LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA

ONE HUNDRED SECOND LEGISLATURE

SECOND SESSION

LEGISLATIVE BILL 790

Introduced by Coash, 27.

Read first time January 05, 2012

Committee: Judiciary

A BILL

FOR AN ACT relating to courts; to amend section 24-503, Reissue
Revised Statutes of Nebraska; to change the number of
judges in certain county judge judicial districts; to
provide an operative date; to repeal the original
section; and to declare an emergency.

Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

-1-

1 Section 1. Section 24-503, Reissue Revised Statutes of

- 2 Nebraska, is amended to read:
- 3 24-503 For the purpose of serving the county courts in
- 4 each county, twelve county judge districts are hereby created:
- 5 District No. 1 shall contain the counties of Saline,
- 6 Jefferson, Gage, Thayer, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha, and Richardson;
- 7 District No. 2 shall contain the counties of Sarpy, Cass,
- 8 and Otoe;
- 9 District No. 3 shall contain the county of Lancaster;
- 10 District No. 4 shall contain the county of Douglas;
- 11 District No. 5 shall contain the counties of Merrick,
- 12 Platte, Colfax, Boone, Nance, Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward,
- 13 and Saunders;
- 14 District No. 6 shall contain the counties of Dixon,
- 15 Dakota, Cedar, Burt, Thurston, Dodge, and Washington;
- 16 District No. 7 shall contain the counties of Knox,
- 17 Cuming, Antelope, Pierce, Wayne, Madison, and Stanton;
- 18 District No. 8 shall contain the counties of Cherry, Keya
- 19 Paha, Brown, Rock, Blaine, Loup, Custer, Boyd, Holt, Garfield,
- 20 Wheeler, Valley, Greeley, Sherman, and Howard;
- 21 District No. 9 shall contain the counties of Buffalo and
- 22 Hall;
- District No. 10 shall contain the counties of Fillmore,
- 24 Adams, Clay, Phelps, Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, Webster, and
- 25 Nuckolls;

1 District No. 11 shall contain the counties of Hooker,

- 2 Thomas, Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith, Perkins, Lincoln, Dawson,
- 3 Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Gosper, Dundy, Hitchcock, Red Willow, and
- 4 Furnas; and
- 5 District No. 12 shall contain the counties of Sioux,
- 6 Dawes, Box Butte, Sheridan, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, Banner,
- 7 Kimball, Cheyenne, Grant, and Deuel.
- 8 District 4 shall have twelve county judges. Districts 3
- 9 and 5 shall have six county judges. District 3 shall have seven
- 10 <u>county judges.</u> Districts <u>5</u>, <u>11</u>, and 12 shall have five county judges.
- 11 Districts 2, 6, and 9 shall have four county judges. Districts 1, 7,
- 12 8, and 10 shall have three county judges.
- Judge of the county court shall include any person
- 14 appointed to the office of county judge or municipal judge prior to
- 15 July 1, 1985, pursuant to Article V, section 21, of the Constitution
- 16 of Nebraska.
- 17 Any person serving as a municipal judge in district 3 or
- 18 4 immediately prior to July 1, 1985, shall be a judge of the county
- 19 court and shall be empowered to hear only those cases as provided in
- 20 section 24-517 which the presiding judge of the county court for such
- 21 district, with the concurrence of the Supreme Court, shall direct.
- Sec. 2. This act becomes operative on July 1, 2012.
- Sec. 3. Original section 24-503, Reissue Revised Statutes
- of Nebraska, is repealed.
- 25 Sec. 4. Since an emergency exists, this act takes effect

1 when passed and approved according to law.