## ONE HUNDRED SECOND LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION - 2012 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LR358CA

Wednesday February 01, 2012 **Hearing Date:** Committee On: **Executive Board** Introducer: Carlson One Liner: Constitutional amendment to change legislative term limits to three terms **Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:** Advanced to General File Vote Results: Aye: 6 Senators Christensen, Karpisek, Langemeier, Lathrop, Nelson, Wightman 3 Senators Fischer, Flood, Pahls Nay: Absent: **Present Not Voting: Proponents:** Representing: Senator Tom Carlson Introducer Jerry Stilmock Nebraska State Volunteer Firefighters Association, Nebraska Fire Chiefs Association, Nebraska Bankers Association Ron Sedlacek Nebraska Chamber of Commerce Adam Morfeld Nebraskans For Civic Reform Opponents: Representing: Neutral: Representing: Summary of purpose and/or changes: At the general election in November 2012, voters would be given the opportunity to amend Article III, section 12, pertaining to term limits for members of the Legislature. The amendment would allow members to serve three consecutive four-year terms instead of two consecutive four-year terms.

John Wightman, Chairperson