## AMENDMENTS TO LB 704

## (Amendments to Standing Committee amendments, AM1492)

## Introduced by Karpisek

1	1. Strike amendment 1 and insert the following new
2	amendment:
3	1. Strike original section 1 and all amendments thereto
4	and insert the following new section:
5	Section 1. Section 32-504, Reissue Revised Statutes of
6	Nebraska, is amended to read:
7	32-504 (1) Based on the <del>2000</del> 2010 Census of Population
8	by the United States Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census,
9	the State of Nebraska is hereby divided into three districts for
10	electing Representatives in the Congress of the United States, and
11	each district shall be entitled to elect one representative. The
12	limits and designations of the three districts shall be as follows:
13	(1) The first district shall contain the counties of
14	Richardson, Nemaha, Otoe, Cass, Johnson, Pawnee, Gage, Lancaster,
15	Saunders, Seward, Butler, Dodge, Washington, Colfax, Madison, Burt,
16	Stanton, Cuming, Thurston, Wayne, Dixon, and Dakota, that part of
17	Sarpy County not included in the second district, and that part
18	of Cedar County beginning at the intersection of the Cedar-Dixon
19	County line and the northern boundary of Precinct $7_7$ follow such
20	boundary west to the intersection of a north-south line extending
21	north from 574th Avenue, south along such line to 574th Avenue,
22	south on 574th Avenue to 886th Road, west on 886th Road to State

AM1517 LB704 NPN-05/19/2011

Highway 57, north on State Highway 57 to 887th Road, west on 887th 1 2 Road to the intersection of a north-south line extending north from 3 570th Avenue, south along such line to 570th Avenue, south on 570th 4 Avenue to 884th Road, west on 884th Road to 566th Avenue, south on 5 566th Avenue to Bow Creek, follow Bow Creek west to 883rd Road, 6 west on 883rd Road to 564th Avenue, south on 564th Avenue to 882nd 7 Road, south on 882nd Road to 564th Avenue, south on 564th Avenue 8 and continuing south along a north-south line extending south from 9 564th Avenue to 564th Avenue, south on 564th Avenue to 870th Road, 10 west on 870th Road to 564th Avenue, south on 564th Avenue to the 11 Cedar-Wayne County line, east along the Cedar-Wayne County line to 12 the Cedar-Dixon County line, and north along the Cedar-Dixon County 13 line to the point of beginning;

14 (2) The second district shall contain Douglas County and 15 that part of Sarpy County beginning at the intersection of the Douglas-Sarpy County line and South 156th Street, south on South 16 17 156th Street to Giles Road, east on Giles Road to South 132nd 18 Street, south on South 132nd Street to State Highway 370, east 19 on State Highway 370 to the western boundary of the Papillion-La 20 Vista Public School District, follow such boundary south to Schram 21 Road, east on Schram Road to the intersection of a north-south 22 line extending north from South 120th Street, south along such 23 line to the intersection of an east-west line extending west from Maass Road, east along such line to South 114th Street, north 24 25 on South 114th Street to Schram Road, east on Schram Road to 26 the southern corporate limits of the city of Papillion, follow 27 the southern corporate limits of the city of Papillion east to

-2-

AM1517 LB704 NPN-05/19/2011

State Highway 370, east on State Highway 370 to South 72nd Street, 1 2 south on South 72nd Street to Capehart Road, east on Capehart Road 3 to South 60th Street, south on South 60th Street and continuing 4 south along a north-south line extending south from South 60th 5 Street to Platteview Road, east on Platteview Road to Dyson Hollow 6 Road, north on Dyson Hollow Road to the southern boundary of the 7 Bellevue Public School District, follow such boundary east to U.S. 8 Highway 75, south on U.S. Highway 75 to the Sarpy-Cass County line, 9 east along the Sarpy-Cass County line to the Nebraska-Iowa state 10 line, north along the Nebraska-Iowa state line to the Douglas-Sarpy 11 County line, and west along the Douglas-Sarpy County line to the 12 point of beginning; and

13 (3) The third district shall contain the counties of 14 Jefferson, Saline, Thayer, Fillmore, York, Polk, Platte, Pierce, 15 Knox, Antelope, Boone, Nance, Merrick, Hamilton, Clay, Nuckolls, 16 Webster, Adams, Hall, Howard, Greeley, Wheeler, Holt, Boyd, 17 Garfield, Valley, Sherman, Buffalo, Kearney, Franklin, Harlan, 18 Phelps, Furnas, Gosper, Dawson, Custer, Loup, Blaine, Keya Paha, 19 Rock, Brown, Cherry, Thomas, Logan, Lincoln, Frontier, Red Willow, 20 Hitchcock, Hayes, McPherson, Hooker, Grant, Arthur, Keith, Perkins, 21 Chase, Dundy, Deuel, Carden, Sheridan, Cheyenne, Morrill, Box 22 Butte, Dawes, Sioux, Scotts Bluff, Banner, and Kimball and that 23 part of Cedar County not included in the first district.

24 (2) The numbers and boundaries of the districts are 25 designated and established by a map identified and labeled as 26 map CON1-32001, filed with the Clerk of the Legislature, and 27 incorporated by reference as part of this legislative bill.

-3-

AM1517 AM1517 LB704 LB704 NPN-05/19/2011 NPN-05/19/2011 1 (3) (a) The Clerk of the Legislature shall transfer 2 possession of the map referred to in subsection (2) of this section to the Secretary of State on the effective date of this 3 4 act. 5 (b) When questions of interpretation of district 6 boundaries arise, the map referred to in subsection (2) of this 7 section in possession of the Secretary of State shall serve as the indication of the legislative intent in drawing the district 8 9 boundaries. 10 (c) Each election commissioner or county clerk shall 11 obtain copies of the map referred to in subsection (2) of this 12 section for the election commissioner's or clerk's county from the 13 Secretary of State. 14 (d) The Secretary of State shall also have available for 15 viewing on his or her web site the map referred to in subsection 16 (2) of this section identifying the boundaries for the districts.