## AMENDMENTS TO LB 704

## Introduced by Mello

1 1. Strike original section 1 and all amendments thereto 2 and insert the following new section: 3 Section 1. Section 32-504, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, is amended to read: 4 5 32-504 (1) Based on the 2000 2010 Census of Population 6 by the United States Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 7 the State of Nebraska is hereby divided into three districts for 8 electing Representatives in the Congress of the United States, and each district shall be entitled to elect one representative. The 9 10 limits and designations of the three districts shall be as follows: 11 (1) The first district shall contain the counties of 12 Richardson, Nemaha, Otoe, Cass, Johnson, Pawnee, Cage, Lancaster, 13 Saunders, Seward, Butler, Dodge, Washington, Colfax, Madison, Burt, Stanton, Cuming, Thurston, Wayne, Dixon, and Dakota, that part of 14 15 Sarpy County not included in the second district, and that part 16 of Cedar County beginning at the intersection of the Cedar-Dixon 17 County line and the northern boundary of Precinct 7, follow such 18 boundary west to the intersection of a north-south line extending 19 north from 574th Avenue, south along such line to 574th Avenue, 20 south on 574th Avenue to 886th Road, west on 886th Road to State 21 Highway 57, north on State Highway 57 to 887th Road, west on 887th 22 Road to the intersection of a north-south line extending north from 23 570th Avenue, south along such line to 570th Avenue, south on 570th

-1-

AM1508 LB704 NPN-05/19/2011

Avenue to 884th Road, west on 884th Road to 566th Avenue, south on 1 2 566th Avenue to Bow Creek, follow Bow Creek west to 883rd Road, 3 west on 883rd Road to 564th Avenue, south on 564th Avenue to 882nd 4 Road, south on 882nd Road to 564th Avenue, south on 564th Avenue 5 and continuing south along a north-south line extending south from 6 564th Avenue to 564th Avenue, south on 564th Avenue to 870th Road, 7 west on 870th Road to 564th Avenue, south on 564th Avenue to the 8 Cedar-Wayne County line, east along the Cedar-Wayne County line to 9 the Cedar-Dixon County line, and north along the Cedar-Dixon County 10 line to the point of beginning;

(2) The second district shall contain Douglas County and 11 12 that part of Sarpy County beginning at the intersection of the 13 Douglas-Sarpy County line and South 156th Street, south on South 14 156th Street to Giles Road, east on Giles Road to South 132nd 15 Street, south on South 132nd Street to State Highway 370, east 16 on State Highway 370 to the western boundary of the Papillion-La 17 Vista Public School District, follow such boundary south to Schram 18 Road, east on Schram Road to the intersection of a north-south 19 line extending north from South 120th Street, south along such 20 line to the intersection of an east-west line extending west from 21 Maass Road, east along such line to South 114th Street, north 22 on South 114th Street to Schram Road, east on Schram Road to 23 the southern corporate limits of the city of Papillion, follow 24 the southern corporate limits of the city of Papillion east to 25 State Highway 370, east on State Highway 370 to South 72nd Street, 26 south on South 72nd Street to Capehart Road, east on Capehart Road 27 to South 60th Street, south on South 60th Street and continuing

-2-

AM1508 LB704 NPN-05/19/2011

1 south along a north-south line extending south from South 60th 2 Street to Platteview Road, east on Platteview Road to Dyson Hollow 3 Road, north on Dyson Hollow Road to the southern boundary of the 4 Bellevue Public School District, follow such boundary east to U.S. 5 Highway 75, south on U.S. Highway 75 to the Sarpy-Cass County line, 6 east along the Sarpy-Cass County line to the Nebraska-Iowa state 7 line, north along the Nebraska-Iowa state line to the Douglas-Sarpy 8 County line, and west along the Douglas-Sarpy County line to the 9 point of beginning; and

10 (3) The third district shall contain the counties of 11 Jefferson, Saline, Thayer, Fillmore, York, Polk, Platte, Pierce, 12 Knox, Antelope, Boone, Nance, Merrick, Hamilton, Clay, Nuckolls, Webster, Adams, Hall, Howard, Greeley, Wheeler, Holt, Boyd, 13 14 Garfield, Valley, Sherman, Buffalo, Kearney, Franklin, Harlan, 15 Phelps, Furnas, Cosper, Dawson, Custer, Loup, Blaine, Keya Paha, 16 Rock, Brown, Cherry, Thomas, Logan, Lincoln, Frontier, Red Willow, 17 Hitchcock, Hayes, McPherson, Hooker, Grant, Arthur, Keith, Perkins, Chase, Dundy, Deuel, Garden, Sheridan, Cheyenne, Morrill, Box 18 19 Butte, Dawes, Sioux, Scotts Bluff, Banner, and Kimball and that 20 part of Cedar County not included in the first district.

21 <u>(2) The numbers and boundaries of the districts are</u> 22 <u>designated and established by a map identified and labeled as</u> 23 <u>map CON1-05003, filed with the Clerk of the Legislature, and</u> 24 <u>incorporated by reference as part of this legislative bill.</u>

25 (3) (a) The Clerk of the Legislature shall transfer
26 possession of the map referred to in subsection (2) of this
27 section to the Secretary of State on the effective date of this

-3-

AM1508 LB704 NPN-05/19/2011

1 <u>act.</u>

2	(b) When questions of interpretation of district
3	boundaries arise, the map referred to in subsection (2) of this
4	section in possession of the Secretary of State shall serve as
5	the indication of the legislative intent in drawing the district
6	boundaries.
7	(c) Each election commissioner or county clerk shall
8	obtain copies of the map referred to in subsection (2) of this
9	section for the election commissioner's or clerk's county from the
10	Secretary of State.
11	(d) The Secretary of State shall also have available for
12	viewing on his or her web site the map referred to in subsection
13	(2) of this section identifying the boundaries for the districts.