ONE HUNDRED FIRST LEGISLATURE

SECOND SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 565

Introduced by McCoy, 39.

WHEREAS, twenty-three individuals from legislative district 39 have completed the requirements for the rank of Eagle Scout in the Boy Scouts of America; and

WHEREAS, these outstanding individuals include Ryan N. Anson, Jacob D. Benes, David H. Boedeker, Michael J. Buck, Brett S. Carroll, Erik R. Christensen, Cody Felger, Dillon Felger, Jonathan R. Hanisch, Alexander E. Howard, Kevin D. Huefner, William D. E. Kamppinen, Garrett K. Kraudy, Sean Kurfman, Cameron Opfer, Ethan Paasch, Benjamin W. Reher, Thomas D. Rhodes, Shawn P. Sanders, Zachary R. Shackelford, David G. Smith, Ethan M. Stohs, and Jonathan N. Williams; and

WHEREAS, to earn the rank of Eagle Scout, the highest rank in scouting, a Boy Scout must fulfill requirements in the areas of leadership, service, and outdoor skills. Although many options are available to demonstrate proficiency in these areas, a number of specific skills are required to advance through the ranks of Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, Life, and finally Eagle Scout. Throughout their scouting experiences, these individuals have learned, been tested on, and been recognized for various scouting skills; and

WHEREAS, to achieve the rank of Eagle Scout, a Boy Scout

-1-

is required to earn 21 merit badges, 12 of which are in required areas, and complete a community service project approved by the troop and the scout council; and

WHEREAS, only five percent of the boys who join the Boy Scouts of America achieve the rank of Eagle Scout.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED FIRST LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, SECOND SESSION:

1. That the Legislature congratulates all of the outstanding individuals from legislative district 39 on achieving the rank of Eagle Scout.

2. That a copy of this resolution be sent to the Mid-America Council of the Boy Scouts of America.

-2-