LR 415

ONE HUNDRED FIRST LEGISLATURE

SECOND SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 415

Introduced by Pirsch, 4.

WHEREAS, the Academic Decathlon competition is a strenuous mental competition in which many teams enter but few prevail; and

WHEREAS, the Academic Decathlon is a scholastic competition for teams of high school students; and

WHEREAS, the Harry A. Burke High School team from Omaha,
Nebraska, placed second in the Nebraska Academic Decathlon; and

WHEREAS, team members Caya Simonsen, Jennifer Swenson, Eric Hilt, Mike Coonfield, Bethany Loux, Kellee Stanard, Erin Cooper, Jessica Smith, Laura Kresha, and David Houenassou deserve special recognition for their teamwork and diverse knowledge, which contributed to the team's outstanding success in 2010; and

WHEREAS, the accomplishments of students should be recognized by the Legislature.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED FIRST LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, SECOND SESSION:

- 1. That the Legislature recognizes and congratulates the members of the Burke High School Academic Decathlon team and their coach, Judy Kennedy, for their outstanding success in 2010.
- 2. That a copy of this resolution be sent to the Burke High School Academic Decathlon team and their coach, Judy Kennedy.