# ONE HUNDRED FIRST LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION - 2010 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LB1057

| Hearing Date: | Friday February 05, 2010  |
|---------------|---|
| Committee On: | Natural Resources   |
| Introducer:   | Carlson   |
| One Liner:    | Create the Republican River Basin Water Sustainability Task Force |

## **Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:**

Advanced to General File with amendment(s)

#### Vote Results:

 Aye:
 8
 Senators Carlson, Cook, Dubas, Fischer, Haar, Langemeier, McCoy, Schilz

 Nay:
 8

Absent: Present Not Voting:

| <b>Proponents:</b><br>Senator Tom Carlson<br>Mike Clements<br>Brad Edgerton | <b>Representing:</b><br>Introducer<br>Lower Republican Natural Resources District<br>Nebraska Water Resources Association, Nebraska<br>State Irrigation Association |
|---|---|
| Steve Nelson  | Nebraska Farm Bureau Federation   |
| Tom Schwarz   | Self  |
| Mike Ingram   | Franklin County   |
| Chuck Lambert   | Southern Valley Schools   |
| Rhn Jacobsen  | Franklin City Council   |
| James Uerling   | Self  |
| Don Adams   | Nebraskans First  |
| Matt Harrison   | Self  |
| Ron Hunter  | Ag Valley Coop  |
| Larry Dix   | Nebraska Association of County Officials  |
| Duane Gangwish  | Nebraska Cattlemen  |
| <b>Opponents:</b><br>Jasper Fanning   | <b>Representing:</b><br>Nebraska Association of Resources Districts, Upper<br>Republican Natural Resources District   |
| <b>Neutral:</b>   | <b>Representing:</b>  |
| Dan Smith   | Middle Republican Natural Resources District  |
| Ed Schrock  | Self  |

## Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 1057 would create the Republican River Basin Water Sustainability Task Force to study how to ensure sustainable water use in the basin, maintain compliance with interstate compacts, and avoid water-short years.

## **Explanation of amendments:**

The adopted committee amendment, AM1895, replaces much of the bill. The bill, as amended, would do the following:

Section 1 creates the Republican River Basin Water Sustainability Task Force. There are to be 21 voting members (excluding the state agency representatives) representing a cross-section of the Republican River Basin. The Governor is to appoint members representing the following entities, with the number of members to be appointed noted in parentheses: natural resources districts in the Republican River Basin (2); irrigation districts in the basin (4); University of Nebraska Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources (1); Game and Parks Commission (1); Department of Agriculture (1); Department of Natural Resources (1); agriculture related businesses in the basin (2) and one representative each from a school district, city, county, and public power district in the basin.

The Legislature's Executive Board chairperson is also to appoint three ex-officio, non-voting senators, including two who reside in the basin, and the chairperson of the Natural Resources Committee. The task force is to be housed within the Department of Natural Resources for administrative and budgetary purposes, advisory support may be requested from federal and state agencies, and non-state employees are to be reimbursed for expenses.

Section 2 states that the task force is to meet quarterly and may hire a facilitator, and is to convene within 30 days after appointments are done. The task force is to provide a report to the Governor and Legislature, and is to terminate on June 30, 2012. Also, the intention is stated that expenses are to be paid for from funds appropriated from the Water Resources Cash Fund.

Section 3 attaches an emergency clause.

Chris Langemeier, Chairperson