ONE HUNDREDTH LEGISLATURE

FIRST SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 58

Introduced by Synowiecki, 7

WHEREAS, the Omaha Central Eagles won the 2007 Class A Boys' State Basketball Championship; and

WHEREAS, the Eagles, under the direction of Coach Eric Behrens, won their second straight state championship by defeating Bellevue West in overtime, 93-85; and

WHEREAS, seniors Alex Deleon and Ben Kline provided the young team with outstanding leadership; and

WHEREAS, Ronnell Grixby, Alex Deleon, Lorenzo Wilson, and Josh Jones contributed 55 of Central's first 79 points, before fouling out of the game; and

WHEREAS, Chris Griffin, Ben Kline, Paul Simms, Doug Knickrehm, and Josh Bruning stepped up in overtime to lead the Eagles to the championship.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDREDTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, FIRST SESSION:

 That the Legislature congratulates the Omaha Central Eagles on winning the 2007 Class A Boys' State Basketball Championship.

2. That a copy of this resolution be sent to the Eagles and Coach Eric Behrens.

-1-