LR 256

ONE HUNDREDTH LEGISLATURE

SECOND SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 256

Introduced by Aguilar, 35.

WHEREAS, the Nebraska National Guard has played a major role in support of Operation Noble Eagle in the United States;

Operation Enduring Freedom in Afghanistan; and Operation Iraqi

Freedom in Iraq; and

WHEREAS, Nebraska Army National Guard missions have included security, force protection, transportation, logistic support, quick reaction force, forward area support, rear area support, medical support, aviation maintenance, aviation support, medical evacuation (air and ground), reconnaissance, surveillance, law and order (police investigation), and direct support maintenance; and

WHEREAS, Nebraska Air National Guard missions have included aerial refueling, maintenance, engineering, supply mobility support, financial management, and security; and

WHEREAS, more than three thousand five hundred members of the Nebraska National Guard have deployed to more than twenty foreign countries during the last five years; and

WHEREAS, First Lieutenant Edward D. Iwan, Sergeant Jacob S. Schmuecker, Sergeant Wayne R. Cornell, Sergeant Kenneth E. Locker Jr., Specialist William L. Bailey III, and Specialist Randy J. Matheny made the ultimate sacrifice by giving their lives for

LR 256

this nation; and

WHEREAS, the Bronze Star with Valor, awarded for heroic or meritorious achievement or service, has been presented to Sergeant Anthoney J. Jensen, Sergeant Jared M. Riggert, Sergeant Heather N. Springer, Sergeant Josiah P. Warren, Specialist Mathew P. Severin, and Specialist Bryan M. Stroyek; and

WHEREAS, the Purple Heart, awarded to members of the United States Armed Forces wounded or killed as a direct result of enemy actions, has been presented to Staff Sergeant Courtney L. Miller, Sergeant Dennis K. Cabanting, Sergeant Timothy L. Dolberg, Sergeant Jeremy M. Fulton, Sergeant Adam L. Homan, Sergeant Mack W. Richards, Sergeant Travis D. Richards (two awards), Sergeant Jacob S. Schmuecker (posthumous), Sergeant Josiah P. Warren, Specialist Jeromy P. Dillman, Specialist Luis A. Estrada, Specialist William J. Hottovy, Specialist Daniel L. McCoy, Specialist Houston M. Meeks, Specialist Brennan A. Rutt, Specialist Bradley C. Utterback, Specialist Arthur C. Werner, Specialist Timothy J. Wheelock, Specialist Shane T. Zezulka, Specialist William L. Bailey III (posthumous), Specialist Randy J. Matheny (posthumous), Private First Class Jason M. Newman, and Private First Class James J. O'Malley IV; and

WHEREAS, the Army Commendation Medal with Valor, awarded for heroism, meritorious achievement, or meritorious service, has been presented to Sergeant Wayne R. Cornell, Sergeant Christopher M. Brammer, Sergeant Joshua D. Tobaben, and Specialist Micah J. Alfieri.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDREDTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, SECOND SESSION:

LR 256

 That the Legislature expresses its gratitude and wishes to honor these men and women for their sacrifice and service to the State of Nebraska and the United States of America.

2. That a copy of this resolution be sent to all the soldiers mentioned in this resolution.