LR 241 LR 241

ONE HUNDREDTH LEGISLATURE

SECOND SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 241

Introduced by Raikes, 25.

WHEREAS, "We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution" is a nationally acclaimed civic education program that helps students understand the history and principles of the nation's constitutional government; and

WHEREAS, the Lincoln East High School "We the People" team won the 2008 Nebraska State High School Competition on January 16, 2008, in Lincoln; and

WHEREAS, the Lincoln East team members, Sarah Anthony,
Lauren Bavitz, Mark Carraher, Sasan Choobineh, Kelley Christensen,
Alex Churchill, Darja Dobermann, Shawn Donahue, Sean Dwyer, Callie
Feingold, Dain Finke, Brady Gilg, James Hao, Lauren Harrison,
Susan Kachman, George Miller, Mela Naco, Carly Persell, Ryan
Pickerill, Adam Russnogle, and Tina Zheng, spent many hours since
the beginning of the school year preparing for the competition; and

WHEREAS, the Lincoln East team will go to Washington, D.C., to compete in the 2008 National Finals in May.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDREDTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, SECOND SESSION:

1. That the Legislature congratulates the Lincoln East High School "We the People" team and their instructor, Kevin Rippe, on winning the 2008 Nebraska State High School Competition and

LR 241 LR 241

extends its encouragement for a successful showing at the 2008 National Finals.

2. That a copy of this resolution be sent to the Lincoln East team and Kevin Rippe.