LR 235

ONE HUNDREDTH LEGISLATURE

SECOND SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 235

Introduced by Flood, 19.

WHEREAS, at the annual Statehood dinner, held in the Nebraska State Capitol, the NEBRASKAland Foundation on Saturday, March 1, 2008, will present the distinguished Nebraskalander Award, along with the WagonMaster Award, the Trailblazer Awards, and the Pioneer Awards; and

WHEREAS, the WagonMaster Award is presented to Jane Renner-Hood of Lincoln. Ms. Renner-Hood has been executive director of the Nebraska Humanities Council since 1987. Her numerous civic efforts include acting as treasurer of the Willa Cather Pioneer Memorial and Educational Foundation, as secretary of the Federation of State Humanities Councils, and as a member of the board of directors of the Cooper Foundation and the Nebraska Public Radio Foundation; and

WHEREAS, the first Pioneer Award is presented to Clayton Anderson. Mr. Anderson considers Ashland, Nebraska, to be his hometown and is Nebraska's first National Aeronautics and Space Administration astronaut. He joined the Johnson Space Center in 1983 and in November of 2007 returned from living and working aboard the International Space Station for five months; and

WHEREAS, the second Pioneer Award is presented to Don Overman, Mayor Emeritus of Scottsbluff, Nebraska. Mr. Overman

LR 235 LR 235

served as mayor of Scottsbluff from 1974 to 1994. In 2000, he was named the "Citizen of the Century" in government for the panhandle of Nebraska over the past one hundred years; and

WHEREAS, the first Trailblazer Award is presented to Major General Roger Lempke of Lincoln. Major General Lempke served as Nebraska's Adjutant General for seven years until his retirement in November of 2007. As head of the Nebraska National Guard and the Nebraska Emergency Management Agency, he oversaw responses to several state floods, wildfires, and ice storms, as well as Nebraska's response to Hurricane Katrina in 2005; and

WHEREAS, the second Trailblazer Award is presented to Lloyd Castner of Columbus. Mr. Castner has served in city administrations in Oregon and in Bellevue and Columbus, Nebraska, for over thirty years and as Manager of Marketing for Nebraska Public Power District. He has been active in public and community service and has received many local and state honors, including the Diplomat of the Year Award in 2006 from the Nebraska Diplomats; and

WHEREAS, the distinguished Nebraskalander Award is presented to John Gottschalk of Omaha. Mr. Gottschalk was the fifth publisher of the Omaha World-Herald and serves as chairman and chief executive officer of the Omaha World-Herald Company, which comprises twenty-six companies involved in print, marketing, communications, and high-tech enterprises. Recognized nationally for his commitment to volunteerism, he has been honored by the Boy Scouts of America, Ak-Sar-Ben, and the Woodrow Wilson Foundation.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDREDTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, SECOND SESSION:

1. That the Legislature extends its appreciation to the

LR 235

honorees named in this resolution for their service to the State of Nebraska.

2. That a copy of this resolution be given to all honorees.