ONE HUNDREDTH LEGISLATURE

FIRST SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 21

Introduced by Flood, 19

WHEREAS, the NEBRASKAland Foundation will present the Distinguished Nebraskalander Award, along with the Wagonmaster, Trailblazer, and Pioneer Awards, at the annual Statehood Day Dinner to be held in the State Capitol on Saturday, March 3, 2007; and

WHEREAS, the Wagonmaster Award will be presented to The Honorable Bill Barrett. Mr. Barrett, of Lexington, has a distinguished record of public service. He served as Chairman of the Nebraska Republican Party, was a member of the Legislature from 1979 to 1990, including service as Speaker of the Legislature, and was a five-term United States Representative, representing the third congressional district; and

WHEREAS, the Pioneer Award will be presented to Ms. Carol Cope. Ms. Cope's commitment to the arts has been a lifelong endeavor. Her generosity has brought many improvements to the University of Nebraska at Kearney, the Merriman's Performing Arts Center, and many other entities. She has been the recipient of many awards, including the Sertoma Service to Mankind, the Nebraska Philanthropist of the Year, and the 2005 Governor's Art Award. She also has served on numerous boards; and

WHEREAS, the Pioneer Award will also be presented to Mr. Ken Morrison. Mr. Morrison, of Hastings, is the founder

-1-

and managing partner of Morrison Enterprises. His company has agricultural operations in the United States, Canada, Central and South America, and Malaysia and includes livestock, frozen food processing, shrimp farming, and soybean production; and

WHEREAS, the Trailblazer Award will be presented to Mr. Bill Smith. Mr. Smith, of Lincoln, is the owner of Speedway Motors, the world's largest maker and distributor of auto products for the racing and street rod world, and the Museum of American Speed, the world's largest vintage collection of exotic racing engines and speed equipment. He has been inducted into eight industry halls of fame; and

WHEREAS, the Distinguished NEBRASKAlander Award is presented to Carl (Ky) and Jane Rohman. Carl (Ky) and Jane Rohman, of Lincoln, are active supporters of the arts statewide, including the Museum of Nebraska Art in Kearney, the Sheldon Art Gallery in Lincoln, the Meadowlark Music Festival in Lincoln, and many Brownville, Nebraska, projects.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDREDTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, FIRST SESSION:

1. That the Legislature extends its appreciation to the honorees for their service to the State of Nebraska.

2. That a copy of this resolution be given to each honoree.

-2-