LB 816 LB 816

LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA

ONE HUNDREDTH LEGISLATURE

SECOND SESSION

LEGISLATIVE BILL 816

Introduced by Avery, 28.

Read first time January 10, 2008

Committee: Judiciary

A BILL

- FOR AN ACT relating to courts; to amend section 24-301.02,

 Revised Statutes Supplement, 2007; to change the number

 of district court judges; and to repeal the original section.
- Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

LB 816 LB 816

1 Section 1. Section 24-301.02, Revised Statutes

- 2 Supplement, 2007, is amended to read:
- 3 24-301.02 The State of Nebraska shall be divided into the
- 4 following twelve district court judicial districts:
- 5 District No. 1 shall contain the counties of Clay,
- 6 Nuckolls, Saline, Jefferson, Gage, Thayer, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha,
- 7 Fillmore, and Richardson;
- 8 District No. 2 shall contain the counties of Sarpy, Cass,
- 9 and Otoe;
- 10 District No. 3 shall contain the county of Lancaster;
- District No. 4 shall contain the county of Douglas;
- 12 District No. 5 shall contain the counties of Merrick,
- 13 Platte, Colfax, Boone, Nance, Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward,
- 14 and Saunders;
- 15 District No. 6 shall contain the counties of Dixon,
- 16 Dakota, Cedar, Burt, Thurston, Dodge, and Washington;
- 17 District No. 7 shall contain the counties of Knox,
- 18 Cuming, Antelope, Pierce, Wayne, Madison, and Stanton;
- 19 District No. 8 shall contain the counties of Cherry,
- 20 Keya Paha, Brown, Rock, Blaine, Loup, Custer, Boyd, Holt, Garfield,
- 21 Wheeler, Valley, Greeley, Sherman, and Howard;
- 22 District No. 9 shall contain the counties of Buffalo and
- 23 Hall;
- 24 District No. 10 shall contain the counties of Adams,
- 25 Phelps, Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, and Webster;

LB 816 LB 816

1 District No. 11 shall contain the counties of Hooker,

- 2 Thomas, Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith, Perkins, Lincoln, Dawson,
- 3 Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Gosper, Dundy, Hitchcock, Red Willow, and
- 4 Furnas; and
- 5 District No. 12 shall contain the counties of Sioux,
- 6 Dawes, Box Butte, Sheridan, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, Banner,
- 7 Kimball, Cheyenne, Grant, and Deuel.
- 8 In the fourth district there shall be sixteen judges of
- 9 the district court. In the third district there shall be seven
- 10 eight judges of the district court. In the second, fifth, ninth,
- 11 eleventh, and twelfth districts there shall be four judges of the
- 12 district court. In the first and sixth districts there shall be
- 13 three judges of the district court. In the seventh, eighth, and
- 14 tenth districts there shall be two judges of the district court.
- 15 Sec. 2. Original section 24-301.02, Revised Statutes
- 16 Supplement, 2007, is repealed.