LB 37 LB 37

## LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA

## ONE HUNDREDTH LEGISLATURE

## FIRST SESSION

## LEGISLATIVE BILL 37

Introduced By: Hudkins, 21;

Read first time: January 4, 2007

Committee: Judiciary

A BILL

1 FOR AN ACT relating to district courts; to amend section 2 24-301.02, Revised Statutes Cumulative Supplement, 2006; to change the number of judges in specified districts; to 3 4 provide an operative date; to repeal the original section; 5 and to declare an emergency. 6

LB 37

1 Section 1. Section 24-301.02, Revised Statutes Cumulative

- 2 Supplement, 2006, is amended to read:
- 3 24-301.02. The State of Nebraska shall be divided into the
- 4 following twelve district court judicial districts:
- 5 District No. 1 shall contain the counties of Clay, Nuckolls,
- 6 Saline, Jefferson, Gage, Thayer, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha, Fillmore,
- 7 and Richardson;
- 8 District No. 2 shall contain the counties of Sarpy, Cass,
- 9 and Otoe;
- 10 District No. 3 shall contain the county of Lancaster;
- District No. 4 shall contain the county of Douglas;
- 12 District No. 5 shall contain the counties of Merrick,
- 13 Platte, Colfax, Boone, Nance, Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward,
- 14 and Saunders;
- 15 District No. 6 shall contain the counties of Dixon, Dakota,
- 16 Cedar, Burt, Thurston, Dodge, and Washington;
- 17 District No. 7 shall contain the counties of Knox, Cuming,
- 18 Antelope, Pierce, Wayne, Madison, and Stanton;
- 19 District No. 8 shall contain the counties of Cherry, Keya
- 20 Paha, Brown, Rock, Blaine, Loup, Custer, Boyd, Holt, Garfield,
- 21 Wheeler, Valley, Greeley, Sherman, and Howard;
- District No. 9 shall contain the counties of Buffalo and
- 23 Hall;
- 24 District No. 10 shall contain the counties of Adams, Phelps,
- 25 Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, and Webster;
- 26 District No. 11 shall contain the counties of Hooker,
- 27 Thomas, Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith, Perkins, Lincoln, Dawson,

LB 37

1 Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Gosper, Dundy, Hitchcock, Red Willow, and

- 2 Furnas; and
- 3 District No. 12 shall contain the counties of Sioux, Dawes,
- 4 Box Butte, Sheridan, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, Banner, Kimball,
- 5 Cheyenne, Grant, and Deuel.
- 6 In the fourth district there shall be sixteen seventeen
- 7 judges of the district court. In the third district there shall be
- 8 seven judges of the district court. In the second and twelfth
- 9 <u>district</u> <u>districts</u> there shall be five judges of the district
- 10 court. In the second, fifth, and eleventh districts there shall be
- 11 four judges of the district court. In the first, sixth, and ninth
- 12 districts there shall be three judges of the district court. In the
- seventh, eighth, and tenth districts there shall be two judges of the
- 14 district court.
- 15 Sec. 2. This act becomes operative on July 1, 2007.
- 16 Sec. 3. Original section 24-301.02, Revised Statutes
- 17 Cumulative Supplement, 2006, is repealed.
- 18 Sec. 4. Since an emergency exists, this act takes effect
- 19 when passed and approved according to law.