## LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA

ONE HUNDREDTH LEGISLATURE

FIRST SESSION

## **LEGISLATIVE BILL 36**

Introduced By: Hudkins, 21; Read first time: January 4, 2007 Committee: Judiciary

## A BILL

1	FOR AN	ACT relating to county courts; to amend section 24-503,
2		Revised Statutes Cumulative Supplement, 2006; to change the
3		number of judges in specified districts; to provide an
4		operative date; to repeal the original section; and to
5		declare an emergency.

6 Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

LB 36

1 Section 1. Section 24-503 Revised Statutes Cumulative 2 Supplement, 2006, is amended to read: 24-503. For the purpose of serving the county courts in each 3 4 county, twelve county judge districts are hereby created: 5 District No. 1 shall contain the counties of Saline, Jefferson, Gage, Thayer, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha, and Richardson; 6 7 District No. 2 shall contain the counties of Sarpy, Cass, 8 and Otoe; 9 District No. 3 shall contain the county of Lancaster; 10 District No. 4 shall contain the county of Douglas; 11 District No. 5 shall contain the counties of Merrick, Platte, Colfax, Boone, Nance, Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward, 12 and Saunders; 13 14 District No. 6 shall contain the counties of Dixon, Dakota, Cedar, Burt, Thurston, Dodge, and Washington; 15 16 District No. 7 shall contain the counties of Knox, Cuming, Antelope, Pierce, Wayne, Madison, and Stanton; 17 District No. 8 shall contain the counties of Cherry, Keya 18 Paha, Brown, Rock, Blaine, Loup, Custer, Boyd, Holt, Garfield, 19 Wheeler, Valley, Greeley, Sherman, and Howard; 20 District No. 9 shall contain the counties of Buffalo and 21 22 Hall; District No. 10 shall contain the counties of Fillmore, 23 24 Adams, Clay, Phelps, Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, Webster, and Nuckolls; 25 District No. 11 shall contain the counties of Hooker, Thomas, Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith, Perkins, Lincoln, Dawson, 26 Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Gosper, Dundy, Hitchcock, Red Willow, and 27

-2-

1 Furnas; and

District No. 12 shall contain the counties of Sioux, Dawes,
Box Butte, Sheridan, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, Banner, Kimball,
Cheyenne, Grant, and Deuel.

5 District 4 shall have twelve fourteen county judges. 6 District 3 shall have seven county judges. Districts 3, 5, and 7 12 shall have six county judges. District 11 shall have five county 8 judges. Districts 2, 6, and 9 shall have four county judges. Districts 9 1, 7, 8, and 10 shall have three county judges.

Judge of the county court shall include any person appointed to the office of county judge or municipal judge prior to July 1, 12 1985, pursuant to Article V, section 21, of the Constitution of Nebraska.

14 Any person serving as a municipal judge in district 3 or 4 immediately prior to July 1, 1985, shall be a judge of the county 15 16 court and shall be empowered to hear only those cases as provided in section 24-517 which the presiding judge of the county court for such 17 district, with the concurrence of the Supreme Court, shall direct. 18 2. This act becomes operative on July 1, 2007. 19 Sec. 20 Sec. 3. Original section 24-503, Revised Statutes Cumulative Supplement, 2006, is repealed. 21

22 Sec. 4. Since an emergency exists, this act takes effect 23 when passed and approved according to law.

-3-