ONE HUNDREDTH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION - 2008

COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LB777

Hearing Date: February 20, 2008

Committee On: Revenue

Introducer(s): (Hudkins)

Title: Change provisions relating to property valuation for taxation purposes

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Placed on General File with Amendments

Vote Results:

5 Yes Senators Cornett, Janssen, Langemeier, Preister and

White

2 No Senators Burling and Raikes

1 Absent Senator Dierks

0 Present, not voting

Representing:

Proponents:

Senator Carol Hudkins

Gene White

William E. Peters

Ed Woeppel

Thomas D. Keller

Introducer

Himself

Himself

Himself

Himself

Jay Rempe NE Farm Bureau Federation

Bob Hackbarth Himself Larry Hudkins Himself

Pete McClymont Nebraska Cattlemen

Robert J. Priel Himself

Opponents: Representing:

Dan Pittman NACO

Neutral: Representing:

None

Committee on Revenue LB 777 Page 2

Summary of purpose and/or change:

LB 777 would establish a definition for "multi-use parcel" as one that has more than one use and more than one tax treatment. For purposes of the assessment of agricultural and horticultural land, the value of a multi-use parcel is the sum of the portions of the parcel that is in each use given the value of each portion. LB 777 would also amend section 77-1359, the value of agricultural and horticultural land, by striking the word "primarily" from the requirement that the parcel (or multiple-use parcel) be primarily used for agricultural or horticultural uses. The bill carries the emergency clause.

Explanation of amendments, if any:

The Committee amendments would replace LB 777 with one section amending section 77-1359, the definition of agricultural and horticultural land. Under the Committee amendment, a parcel of land, excluding any farm home site or farm site shall be examined in total. If the primary use of this part of the parcel is agricultural or horticultural, the land qualifies for classification as agricultural or horticultural land. The amendment retains the emergency clause.

Senator Ray Janssen, Chairperson