ONE HUNDREDTH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION -2008 COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LB757

Hearing Date: January 31, 2008

Committee On: Revenue

Introducer(s): (Hudkins)

Title: Adopt the Volunteer Emergency Responders Incentive Act

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Indefinitely Postponed

Vote Results:

6 Yes

Senators Burling, Dierks, Janssen, Preister, Raikes and White Senators Cornett and Langemeier

- 2 No 0 Absent
- 0 Present, not voting

Proponents:

Senator Carol Hudkins, Introducer Bruce Beins

Kyle lenn

Lynn Rex Richard Uhl Timothy L. Shanks Bob Rose

Tom Hamernik Jerry Stilmock

Representing:

District 21 Nebraska EMS Association, Nebraska Hospital Association Ralston Fire Dept., Nebraska Volunteer Firefighters Association League of Nebraska Municipalities LaVista Fire & Rescue Department Syracuse Rescue Service Edgar Fire Dept., Hastings Area Mutual Aid Association Clarkson Volunteer Fire Department NE State Volunteer Firefighters Association

Opponents:	
None	

Neutral:

None

Representing:

Summary of purpose and/or change:

LB 757 would have amended section 77-2715.07 to grant a \$500 refundable individual income tax credit for individuals who qualify as active emergency responders, active rescue squad members, or active volunteer firefighters. The qualifications were established by sections 1 through 5 of the bill. Essentially, the individuals were to be approved by the authority in control of a volunteer fire department and meet criteria based points awarded for certain service, training and other activities to receive the credit.

Explanation of amendments, if any:

Senator Ray Janssen, Chairperson