

Hundredth Legislature - First Session - 2007 Committee Statement LB 41

Hearing Date: January 24, 2007

Committee On: Revenue

Introducer(s): (Hudkins, 21)

Title: Change motor fuel tax rates and allocation of the revenue

Roll Call Vote – Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File

Advanced to General File with Amendments

X Indefinitely Postponed

Vote Results:

7 Yes Senators Burling, Cornett, Dierks, Langemeier, Preister, Raikes

and White

0 No

0 Present, not voting

1 Absent Senator Janssen

Proponents: Representing:

Senator Carol Hudkins Introducer

Larry Dix Nebraska Association of County Officials

Karl A. Fredrickson City of Lincoln

Lynn Rex League of Nebraska Municipalities

Larry Hudkins Lancaster County

Larry Ruth Associated General Contractors – NE Chapter

Opponents: Representing:

Tim Keigher Nebraska Petroleum Marketers and

Convenience Stores Association

Kathy Siefken Nebraska Grocery Industry Association

Neutral: Representing:

None

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 41 would have changed state laws affecting the motor fuel tax revenue available to city and counties. LB 41 also changed several provisions of laws on motor fuel taxes. Two different tax rates would have been increased from 10.5 cents to 11.5 cents, and from 2 cents per gallon to 4 cents per gallon. Distribution of dollars was to be changed by other provisions which move a

portion of current motor vehicle sales tax dollars from the Highway Allocation Fund to the Highway Trust Fund. References to a specific type of government which may receive Highway Allocation Funds, the municipal county, were to be deleted. This is a new form of government authorized by state law which has not been formed in any area of Nebraska.

The bill also would have directed that all motor vehicle sales tax funds, including that from the additional ½ cent currently directed to the Highway Allocation Fund, would be placed in the Highway Trust Fund.

| Explanation of amendments, if any: | |
|------------------------------------|----------------------------------|
| | |
| | |
| | Senator Ray Janssen, Chairperson |