

Hundredth Legislature - Second Session - 2008 Committee Statement LB 37

Hearing Date: February 28, 2007

Committee On: Judiciary

Introducer(s): (Hudkins)

Title: Change the number of district court judges

Roll Call Vote – Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File

Advanced to General File with Amendments

X Indefinitely Postponed

Vote Results:

5 Yes Sen. Ashford, Sen. McGill, Sen. Pirsch, Sen. Pedersen, Sen.

Schimek

No

Present, not voting

3 Absent Sen. Lathrop, Sen. Chambers, Sen. McDonald

Proponents: Representing:

Sen. Hudkins Introducer

Sean Brennan Lincoln Bar Association

Gary Lacey Self Toni Thurson Self

Pete Wegman Nebraska Association of Trial Attorneys

Linda Crump Self Paul Merritt Self

Opponents: Representing:

Neutral: Representing:

Chief Justice Heavican Nebraska Supreme Court

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

Legislative Bill 37 amends N.R.S. §24-301.02 to increase the number of district court judges in District 4 (Douglas County) from sixteen to seventeen. The bill also increases the number of district court judges in District 2 (Sarpy, Cass, and Otoe Counties) from four to five.

LB 37 contains an emergency clause.	
Explanation of amendments, if any:	
	Senator Brad Ashford, Chairperson