

Hundredth Legislature - First Session - 2007 Revised Committee Statement LB 255

Hearing Date: February 5, 2007 **Committee On:** Business and Labor

Introducer(s): (Rogert)

Title: Change the Nebraska Wage Payment and Collection Act

Roll Call Vote – Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File

X Advanced to General File with Amendments

Indefinitely Postponed

Vote Results:

6 Yes Senators Cornett, Lathrop, McGill, Rogert, Wallman, White

No

Present, not voting

1 Absent Senator Chambers

Proponents: Representing:

Senator Rogert Introducer

Jerry Pigsley Nebraska Chamber of Commerce

Bruce Stee SHRM, Nebraska State Council Greater Omaha

Chamber

Brian Hale Nebraska Assoc. of School Boards

Dan Hoing City of Papillion

Gary Krumland League of Nebraska Municipalities

Kim Hawekotte Douglas County

Ed Wimes University of Nebraska

Jerry Stilmock Nebr. Bankers Assoc., National Federation of

Independent Business, Nebr. Pharmacists Assoc.

Brandon Polt Nebraska Health Care Assoc. Bruce Rieker Nebraska Hospital Assoc.

Jon Edwards NACO

Tom Jeffers Nebraska Cooperative Council

Tim Esser Central Valley Ag
Peter McHargue Farmer's Cooperative

Opponents:Representing:Thomas DowdAFL-CIOMark McGuireNSEA

Neutral:	Representing:
Payment and Collection Act	or changes: LB 255 amends section 48-1129 of the Nebraska Wage in response to <i>Roseland v. Strategic Staff Management, Inc</i> , 272) by amending the definition of "Fringe Benefits" to include:
including but not limited to for the use and payment for	nay stipulate by policy or other agreement that paid leave plans, vacation and sick leave plans, may contain conditions and limitations accrued but unused leave, including but not limited to providing that aid for accrued but unused leave during employment or upon
inserts the following change	ts, if any: The Committee Amendment rewrites the entire bill and is. Within the definition of wages all paid leave, other than earned hall not be payable as wages at the time of employee separation, d otherwise.
	Senator Abbie Cornett, Chairperson