

## Hundredth Legislature - First Session - 2007 Committee Statement LB 22

**Hearing Date:** January 26, 2007

Committee On: Revenue

Introducer(s): (Wightman)

Title: Change inheritance tax calculations

## **Roll Call Vote – Final Committee Action:**

Advanced to General File

Advanced to General File with Amendments

X Indefinitely Postponed

## **Vote Results:**

5 Yes Senators Burling, Dierks, Janssen, Langemeier and Preister

1 No Senator Raikes

0 Present, not voting

2 Absent Senators Cornett and White

**Proponents:** Representing:

Senator John Wightman Introducer
J. Duane Sugden Farm Bureau

Robert J. Hallstrom Nebraska Federation of Independent Business

**Opponents:** Representing:

Jerry McCallum, Commissioner Madison County, NACO
Joe Hewgley Lincoln County Board, NACO

Timothy Loewenstein Buffalo County

Larry Dix Nebraska Association of County Officials

**Neutral:** Representing:

None

## **Summary of purpose and/or changes:**

LB 22 would have amended three sections of the county inheritance tax to increase the exemption amounts for all three classes of beneficiaries. First, section 77-2004 was amended to increase the exemption amount for close relatives (sibling and lineal relatives) from \$10,000 per beneficiary to \$50,000. The tax rate on close relatives remained one percent.

For more distant relatives, the exemption amount would have been increased from \$2,000 to \$5,000 (section 77-2005). The first bracket, which taxes inherited property with a value from

\$2,000 - \$50,000 at six percent, was expanded to include inheritances valued from \$5,000 - \$100,000.

For non-relatives (section 77-2006) there is no exemption for inheritances with a value of \$500 or less. LB 22 would have increased the size of the brackets as follows:

Current	<u>LB 22</u>	Rate
\$0 - \$5,000	\$0 - \$10,000.	6%
\$5,000 - \$10,000	\$10,000 - \$20,000	9%
\$10,000 - \$20,000	\$20,000 - \$50,000	12%
\$20,000 - \$50,000	\$50,000 - \$100,000	15%
Over \$50,000	Over \$100,000	18%

These changes were to be operative for decedents dying on or after January 1, 2007.

Explanation of amendments, if any:	
	Senator Ray Janssen, Chairperson